You Never Know Who You’ll Meet

Written on behalf of the PlushMoney Impact program by Charlsey Kellen

Networking.  If you are a business student, you hear this word at least one hundred times a day.  Whether it’s the latest networking seminar put on by your school, the importance of networking, how networking will get you your next job, the latest platform for networking, the list goes on and on. No one ever seems to explain what this mysterious “networking” word means though.  Why is what seems like just meeting people and making a good impression such a desirable skill?  Before this summer I wondered the exact same thing. 

This summer my favorite band was playing my favorite traveling summer music festival.  Needless to say, I was attending as many dates as I possibly could afford, which happened to be three.  Every day one of the sponsors held a contest where you could win backstage passes to see any band you wanted.  I made sure at the end of the first day when the festival was shutting down to go up to the sponsor employees and explain that I was going to be at all these dates just to see my favorite band and see if they had any tips on how to win the game.  They were more than happy to tell me everything that I wanted to know.  The second day rolled around and my friend and I easily won the game.  Unfortunately my favorite band played too late, so we were not able to see them.  The third day we stopped by just to say hello to our new friend that we had made at the tent.  She offered to put us on the guest list for a fourth date of the tour.  Upon arrival at the fourth date, not only were we on the guest list, but we had backstage passes.  All because we had simply been nice to these wonderful people working on the tour.

Upon meeting my PlushMoney Impact group for the first time, I was very excited to share an idea for a project I had been wanting to work on for a long time, but just had not been able to find the right people to work with.  To my surprise, everyone in the group was just as passionate about the cause as I had been. 

The point that I am trying to make, is that networking is important because in life it’s not just about what you do, it’s also about who you meet.  You never know what you  might share with someone or how the next person you meet will be able to help you in the future toward your goals.  So be kind to everyone you meet, and always make sure to say hello!

Leave a Reply

